Friars’ Ball: Thank You and Farewell from the Friars’ Board

10 January 2022

Appears in: Archdiocesan News

c/o 8421 101 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T6A 0L1

January 10, 2022

Dear Friends,

RE: THANK YOU and Farewell from the Friars Board

Happy New Year! We hope you and your families are all safe and well.

At this time of year, we normally send you a Save the Date reminder. However, the effects of Covid-19 have caused many organizations to engage in existential discussions about their future. Friars has had to do the same. We are writing to advise you of the difficult decision we have taken.

After meeting with Archbishop Smith, Bishop Motiuk, and Mark Ferne VP Advancement of St. Joseph’s College in September 2021, and after significant discussion and deliberation by the Friars’ Board, it is with heavy hearts that we wish to inform you that we came to the very difficult decision not to hold any further events and to dissolve the Friars Board. We will cease operations on the high note of the very successful 50th Anniversary Friars’ Ball in 2019.

We take comfort in knowing that with the re-organization and re-imagining of fund development being undertaken by the Catholic Archdiocese of Edmonton, the Ukrainian Catholic Eparchy of Edmonton, and St. Joseph’s College, fundraising and support for each entity will continue. We strongly encourage and invite you to continue to support Catholic post-secondary education at Newman Theological College, St. Joseph Seminary, St. Joseph’s College, and Holy Spirit Seminary through your prayers and direct financial support to each of them.

It is very important to us that we appropriately respect the history and legacy of Friars as we bring our Board operations to a close. We want to acknowledge the important part YOU played in the success of Friars over the past 50 years in raising $2.1 million dollars for these institutions. It could not have been done without you.

On behalf of the 2021 Friars Board, THANK YOU. We extend to you our deepest gratitude for your support of the Friars over the last 50 years.


Co-Provincial Generals 2021
Damein Zakordonski         &          Carole Anctil-Michalyshyn         

Immediate Past Provincial General: Crista Osualdini
Board members: Greg Szott, Richard Wong, Nathan Stelmach, Clint Moroziuk

cc: Archbishop Richard Smith
Bishop David Motiuk
President Shawn Flynn